Coastal Oak Shrooms


A Coastal Oak Tree next to our neighbors RV pad had to be removed most recently. You could tell that it wasn’t doing so well just by looking at it. It was basically hollow from its base up to about five feet. It also had a very large colony of fire ants within it. Ouch! What caught my interest in this particular tree was the fact that it was still thriving above all of its rot and infestations. But alas… The management said the tree had to go because it could fall down and cause property damage and/or personal injury. I ultimately didn’t favor this tree being terminated, but I’m not the one who owns this place or the liabilities thereof. Bye-bye mighty Coastal Oak. It’s been nice knowing you for this short period of time.

On the brighter side of things… I am very grateful that this mighty tree left me with a few memories before its demise. One example of a lasting memory (-pictures or it didn’t happen-) are the smallest mushrooms I have ever seen growing on a tree, or anywhere else for that matter. I tried using the search engines to find out what kind of shrooms these were, but I didn’t have any luck. I know — I’ll name them Mini-Me-shrooms πŸ™‚

Another memory from this tree: Previously to the above photos, there was one I snapped of what I think is a Chicken Of The Forest (Laetiporus sulphureus), growing between the bottom branches.

However, Β I’m not entirely sure. Which brings me to my next point… Many mushrooms are poisonous and some are deadly poisonous. If you’re not sure what you’re messing with, maybe it’s best not to mess with it at all. Don’t you agree? I agree with myself. Does that count?

Have a good’n y’all πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Coastal Oak Shrooms

I appreciate your thoughts...

