My Love Affair With Nature


I’m madly in love with nature. It never judges me or tells me that I am not worthy. It could care less about the color of my skin, what I look like (goofy for sure), how I dress (even goofier), how much money I (don’t) have, or even what kind of car I drive. It simply accepts me just the way that I am. Nature is the most beautiful and unconditional gift that just keeps on giving 😀

Regarding the mention of my sincere gratitude above…

I was sitting at my computer one day in early May, watching a little baby squirrel incautiously roaming about. My first thought was, “Oh… How adorable.” My second thought was… “Oh crap… The Cat.” It was at the end of my second thought that I looked outside again to discover that the cat already had the squirrel by the tail, pulling it off of a tree. I knew that I probably shouldn’t intervene, but I just couldn’t let that cat get the best of a cute little critter. Out the door I go and I mean like pronto.

Making a beeline around the backside of our RV to the potential murder scene, I took off my flip-flops and started to clap them together as loud as I could. As well as making the excessive flip-flop noise, I began yelling, “No Clip. Let go Clip. Bad cat Clip!” My actions certainly got the cats attention, but it ultimately didn’t let go of the squirrel. The only way I was finally able to separate the squirrel from the cats clutches was to use one of my flip-flops and take a couple of swaths at Clip’s backside. After this extraordinary effort on my part, Meester El Gato finally decided to vacate the immediate area. I walked back to the base of the tree to find the baby squirrel in an obvious state of shock. The expression on this little creatures face along with its little clasped hands reminded me of someone in deep prayer.

(Disclaimer): Besides human beings, I have been known to talk to other entities in this physical world of ours. What’s that? You think that I might be a little silly for talking to a squirrel? Alright then… Go ahead and judge me. Label me what you will. Nature cares not 😉

While keeping a watchful eye on the cat in its current location, I bent down to ask the little varmint if it was okay. Initially it didn’t move at all. It was just laying there on its back, hands clasped, with a wide-eyed and blank-stare. Its complete inaction made me think that it might actually be dead. I began to look it over for any wounds or bleeding. I didn’t see any life-threatening wounds or any blood at all. Hum..? So I continued to talk to it when all of the sudden, the squirrel snapped out of its near-death-trance and moved up the tree a bit. I looked at the little bugger and said, “You better get out of here before that cat comes back to  get you.” It just hung there and stared at me until I finally looked at it and said, “Well?” It was after this last subtle voicing from me that the little one finally continued upward to the top of the Coastal Oaks.

I’m not completely sure if this is the same little critter as mentioned above or not. However, while following it around and capturing the images below, it wasn’t startled by me nor my close proximity to it at all. In my recollection, it was I who was a little startled by its close proximity to me. After all, it is a WILD ANIMAL with some sharp teeth and sharp claws. Regardless of the potential dangers, this close encounter of a natural kind left me to wonder… Could this possibly be the same little life that I had assisted before? My own question led me to do a little research on these little creatures. While in process… I happened to find out a lot of interesting things that I never knew before my encounter with this particular fox squirrel.

Excuse me… Who are you and what is that thing you’re pointing at me?

Standing Tall

Snacking on some previously hidden booty.

Nature sharing the love. Do you see the shape of a heart? I do 🙂

It was very hot and humid on this particular day.  The little one decided to sprawl out in a shady area.

The great cherry tomato thief caught in the act.

Just hanging out while enjoying the green cherry tomato it stole from our neighbors

Excuse me Sir… Can I help you with something?

Alright human… that’s enough pictures for the day!

One thing I do know… It’s fascinating to me when pondering the possibility of somehow making a difference (no matter how big or small) in this world. Just putting forth the effort to brighten this place up a bit brings a simple joy to my heart.

BTW – I would appreciate it if y’all didn’t let my significant other know of my affair with nature. Can we  please just keep this between us? It’ll be our little secret. Okay? I wouldn’t want to break her ❤ or someth… Wait a second… She reads my blog. Doh! Well at least it’s all out in the open and I no longer have to hide it from her. Phew! My shoulders feel much lighter now 😉

Hope y’all have a nice week ahead…

I appreciate your thoughts...

